Which country was not allowed to join the League until 1926?

(A) US

(B) ** Germany

(C) Japan

(D) France


Concept note-1: -Germany was not allowed to join the League in 1919. As Germany had started the war, according to the Treaty of Versailles, one of her punishments was that she was not considered to be a member of the international community and, therefore, she was not invited to join.

Concept note-2: -Germany was not an original member of the League of Nations when it was established in 1920. Germany joined in 1926 and remained a member until Adolf Hitler withdrew the country from the League in 1933.

Concept note-3: -Despite formulating the concept and signing the Covenant, the United States never joined the League of Nations, and some relatively-isolated sovereign states in Asia also did not join, including Saudi Arabia, Yemen, Mongolia, Nepal, and Bhutan.

Concept note-4: -When the League was set up, Germany was excluded from joining. The United States never joined so for many the League was ineffectual. Germany, after the Locarno Pact 1925 managed to secure negotiations for Germany to join. In September 1926, Germany was admitted to the League, to join all the other great powers.