Which territory is STILL part of the United States TODAY?

(A) ** Puerto Rico

(B) Cuba

(C) The Philippines

(D) All of the Above


Concept note-1: -The political status of Puerto Rico is that of an unincorporated territory of the United States. As such, the island of Puerto Rico is neither a sovereign nation nor a U.S. state. Because of that ambiguity, the territory, as a polity, lacks certain rights but enjoys certain benefits that other polities have or lack.

Concept note-2: -The Puerto Rico Status Act has passed 233-191. We did it! According to the 2020 census, Puerto Rico’s population sits at more than 3.2 million, greater than the population of 20 current U.S. states. Puerto Rico has been a territory of the United States since 1898, in the aftermath of the Spanish-American War.

Concept note-3: -Located about a thousand miles from Florida in the Caribbean Sea, Puerto Rico is a United States territory-but it’s not a state. U.S. citizens who reside on the island are subject to federal laws, but can’t vote in presidential elections.

Concept note-4: -Five territories (American Samoa, Guam, the Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands) are permanently inhabited, unincorporated territories; the other nine are small islands, atolls, and reefs with no native (or permanent) population.

Concept note-5: -Puerto Rico is a territory of the United States. It became a U.S. territory in 1898, when it was acquired from Spain after the Spanish-American War. With approximately 3.4 million residents, Puerto Rico is the most highly populated of all United States territories.